Career Achievement Award


The Fish Passage Career Achievement Award recognizes the efforts of an influential professional whose contributions to the field of fish passage have enhanced fisheries resources.

Consideration is given to:

  • Length of service
  • Contributions to the field
  • Imagination and innovation
  • Partnership and outreach activities
  • Support of interdisciplinary efforts
  • Leadership

The previous recipients of the award were:

  • Ben Rizzo (2011)
  • Boyd Kynard (2012)
  • Kozmo Ken Bates (2013)
  • Robert Gubernick (2014)
  • Michel Larinier & François Travade (2015)
  • Steve Rainey (2016)
  • Stephen Gephard (2017)


Any biologist, engineer, or program manager with appreciable career experience working in the field of fish passage. Experience may include field work, design and analysis, research, teaching, regulatory work, management, outreach, or program administration. Recipients may be from private industry, academia, tribal organizations, non-governmental organizations, or government agencies. Members of the 2018 Advisory Board and Organizing Committee are not eligible. Nominations must be submitted before 30th June 2018. Please forward and questions about the process to any member of the coordination team.


The recipient will be selected by the Conference Advisory Board. The Advisory Board will notify the Organizing Committee before 31st July 2018. The recipient’s name will remain confidential until the public award ceremony at the conference.

Nominating Procedure

Nominations are now closed.