Career Achievement Award

Submissions for this form are closed.


The Fish Passage Career Achievement Award recognizes the efforts of an influential professional whose contributions to the field of fish passage have enhanced fisheries resources.

Consideration is given to:
• Length of service
• Contributions to the field
• Imagination and innovation
• Partnership and outreach activities
• Support of interdisciplinary efforts
• Leadership

The previous recipients of the award were:
• Ben Rizzo, USFWS (2011)
• Boyd Kynard, USGS/USFWS (2012)
• Kozmo Ken Bates, Washington State Division of Fish and Wildlife (2013)
• Robert Gubernick, USDA Forest Service (2014)
• Michel Larinier & François Travade (2015)


Any biologist, engineer, or program manager with appreciable career experience working in the field of fish passage. Experience may include field work, design and analysis, research, teaching, regulatory work, management, outreach, or program administration. Recipients may be from private industry, academia, tribal organizations, non-governmental organizations, or government agencies. Members of the 2016 Advisory Board and Organizing Committee are not eligible. Nominations must be submitted before April 20, 2016. Please forward and questions about the process to any member of the coordination team.


The recipient will be selected by the Conference Advisory Board. The Advisory Board will notify the Organizing Committee before TBA. The recipient’s name will remain confidential until the public award ceremony at the conference.

Nominating Procedure

This form is now closed.